2018-06-07 Developer Products Engineering Meeting


#1

Date/Time: 2018-06-07 @ 13:15 UTC / 09:15 EDT / 21:15 HKT
Click here to convert to your time zone
Length: 30 minutes
Meeting link: https://zoom.us/j/966890423

This meeting is for issues around our developer-facing products such as the blockstack.js and the mobile SDKs.

Agenda

Please reply to this forum post with items you would like included on the agenda.

Each item should include:

Item name
Background information: Links to github issues, forum posts, etc with background information on the item
Desired outcome: what decision or deliverable would you like from the discussion of this topic at the meeting?

We’ll save ~10 minutes or so for community questions or comments at the end of the meeting.


#2

Meeting Notes

Attendes

  • Larry
  • Aaron
  • Hank
  • Muneeb
  • Ryan
  • TN
  • Saud
  • Liz
  • Virginia
  • Jeff
  • Sebastian

Key derivation path

Relevant issue: https://github.com/blockstack/blockstack-browser/issues/1367

Action Items:

  • benchmark the derivations on a variety of devices, see if this is an issue at all
  • if it is, we’ll evaluate whether or not the shorter path is secure

Variable consensus hash validity periods based on namespace

For collaborative naming, multi-sig signing of a name transaction can be difficult to accomplish in 4 hours.

Option: add a namespace type which allows setting a custom validity period for consensus hashes

Related issue: https://github.com/blockstack/blockstack-core/issues/833

Next steps: this needs more thinking through before committing to it.

Bitcoin addresses versus Stacks addresses

Issue: https://github.com/blockstack/blockstack-core/issues/832

Action item: Needs more brainstorming and user-test naming format